Knowledgebase:
Gmail Sharing your calendar
Posted by Jason Williams on June 15, 2015 03:08 PM

ALLOWING OTHERS TO VIEW YOUR CALENDAR

In order for others to be able to view or make changes to your calendar, you must first share your calendar.

  1. Open Calendar
    1. In the upper-right corner of the Calendar window, click the Gear icon, and then click Settings.
    2. On the Calendars page, locate the calendar you wish to share.
    3. Under the SHARING heading, click on the Share this calendar link.
      1. NOTE: If sharing has already been enabled, the link changes to Shared: Edit settings

    4. Click to place a check mark in the Share this calendar with others check box.
      1. Make this calendar public – enables anyone to see free/busy times in your calendar but does not provide any detail regarding busy items
      2. Share this calendar with everyone in the organization – Enables anyone within your organization to either see only free/busy times in your calendar without detail or to see free/busy with event details
      3. NOTE: The above options only allow viewing of your calendar. If you want someone to be able to update your calendar, you must give permission to that person individually.
    5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.

 

ALLOWING OTHERS TO MANAGE AND MAKE CHANGES TO YOUR CALENDAR

When you share your calendar with specific individuals, you are able to give them the ability to update your calendar.

  1. Open Calendar
    1. In the upper-right corner of the Calendar window, click the Gear icon, and then click Settings.
    2. On the Calendars page, locate the calendar you wish to share.
    3. Under the Sharing heading, click on the Share this calendar link.
      1. NOTE: if sharing has already been enabled, the link changes to Shared: Edit settings.

    4. In the Share with specific people section, enter the email address of the person you want to give the ability to update your calendar.
      1. From the drop down list under Permission Settings, the following options will now be available
        1. See only free/busy (hide details) – allows the person to see free/busy times in your calendar but does not provide any detail regarding busy items
        2. See all event details – allows the person to see event details of scheduled items but not make changes.
        3. Make changes to events – allows the person to create events, see event details and make changes to those events.
        4. Make changes AND manage sharing – allows the person to create events, see event details and make changes to those events as well as make changes to how the calendar is shared.
          1. NOTE: The make changes options are only available to individuals within your organization.
        5. Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.
          1. NOTE: If you later want to disable sharing with someone, click the trash can icon on the line with their email address.
(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).